About Strive Rehabilitation @ Hawke's Bay

Strive Rehabilitation @ Hawke's Bay provides rehabilitation for people with brain injuries. Our focus is on social, cognitive, educational and prevocational rehabilitation.

The Stewart Centre @ EIT was established in January 1999, initially as a co-operative venture between the Brain Injury Association (HB) and EIT. The Stewart Centre @ EIT Trust was formed in 2006 which became responsible for all governance.

In 2017, the New Zealand Stewart Centre Trust made the decision to rebrand as Strive Rehabilitation Trust with the Stewart Centre @ EIT becoming Strive Rehabilitation @ Hawke's Bay in 2018.

Because we are on the EIT campus, Strive Rehabilitation @ Hawke's Bay has access to numerous EIT facilities and courses including the bookshop, Student Association facilities, the library, hairdressing and beauty therapy services, the Health Centre and two cafes.

The Stewart Centre @ EIT Trust was formed in 2006 and is responsible for all governance and is now referred to as Strive Rehabilitation @ Hawke's Bay Trust.  This body has seven trustees with three ex officio participants and meets quarterly.  It is registered with the New Zealand Charities Commission.

Strive Rehabilitation @ Hawke's Bay's Quality Management System is audited annually by Q Audit - Quality Assurance, against NZS 8185:2012 Home and Community Support Sector Standard.

We are open from Monday to Friday, 9am to 3pm and are staffed by a mixture of full time and part time staff members. Clients attend for a variety of days according to their needs.

Enquiries and referrals to the Strive Rehabilitation @ Hawke's Bay usually come from rehabilitation practitioners such as occupational therapists, our funding agencies and people can self-refer. Most people attending the Strive Rehabilitation @ Hawke's Bay are funded by either ACC or the Ministry of Health through Options Hawke’s Bay. Self funding is also an option.


People referred into the Strive Rehabilitation @ Hawke's Bay need to meet the following criteria:

  • Have a recognised or diagnosed acquired brain injury
  • Are aged between 16 – 65, though people outside these parameters will be considered.

Every enquiry will be assessed on an individual basis.


People whose needs are better met in mental health or intellectual disability services.

Printable Information Brochures (in PDF format):


This product has been added to your cart